Movies

Seven Movie Moments That Make My Eyes Rain

Considering I once cried at a Hallmark commercial (an old lady gets a “just because” card from her neighbors!), it was hard to pare down this list. I’ve restricted it to scenes that make me cry every single time I watch them. These have been tested — I’ve seen each at least 5 times. I even cried as I watched the YouTube clips in preparation for this post.

In no particular order, here they are:

1. Vada can’t stay away from Thomas J’s funeral in My Girl. “He can’t see without his glasses!”

2. Shadow the dog makes it home to his boy Peter after a long journey in Homeward Bound:

3. Artax the horse dies in the swamp of sadness in The Neverending Story (I promise not all of these videos will be animal-related):

4. The opening sequence in Up (carpe diem, y’all!):

5. Captain Crewe, suffering from amnesia, finally remembers his daughter in A Little Princess. I cry even more when I remember that it was my own father who introduced me to this movie:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCMLiKpOZKk (embedding was disabled)

6. In a grand gesture to the deaf son he has long ignored, Mr. Holland (Richard Dreyfuss) sings “Beautiful Boy” in Mr. Holland’s Opus:

7. In Peggy Sue Got Married, divorced 1980s housewife Peggy Sue (Kathleen Turner) time travels back to high school. When she answers the phone in her childhood home, she’s overcome by the sound of her deceased grandmother’s voice on the line. (this scene starts at 3:13 in the video below)

3 thoughts on “Seven Movie Moments That Make My Eyes Rain

  1. It could happen in real life. Take Chico Rodriguez’s death for instance. Ed Brown, played by Jack Albertson did explain about the passing to Raul Garcia, played by Gabriel Melgar. Jack told Gabriel about he died, and did not say how he died. After that, the show was cancelled sometime after Freddie Prinze’s passing.

Leave a Reply

